Sunday, October 22, 2017

RtP's Week in Review (10/22/17)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
Check it out!
  • Are you following me on Instagram? YOU SHOULD! I'm having fun creating backgrounds and seasonal scenes to take bookish pictures with.

Saturday, October 21, 2017

Write On review-a-thon [45]

It's time for another installment of the Write On Review-a-thon. YAY!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
Brought to you by Reading the Paranormal and the #boutofbooks-ers facebook group. This monthly review-a-thon is a chance to get caught up on outstanding reviews. Bring your to-be-reviewed list, block out some time, write reviews. It's that simple.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, October 27th to Sunday, October 29th.

To find out more about the review-a-thon and tentative future dates, visit the Review-a-thon page.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • {coming soon}


Friday, October 20, 2017

Bad Neighbor by Molly O'Keefe [Review]

 Bad Neighbor by Molly O'Keefe
Bad Neighbor (Bad Boy Romance #1) by Molly O'Keefe
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: February 23, 2017

Bad Boy Romance
1. Bad NeighborKindle
2. Baby, Come Back

Molly O'Keefe
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
He's sexy... He's dangerous... He's right next door.

I gave up everything to save my sister from a monster, and now I’m lying low in this rundown apartment so I can stay out of danger. Hiding from everyone.
Except for the guy in apartment 1A.
He’s rude. Silent. Muscled, mysterious, and hot as hell. I don’t know if he likes me or hates me, but the more time I spend with him, the less it matters.
I want him.
And for the first time in my life I'm going to go after what I want.

She doesn’t belong in my world.

From the second 1B moves in, I know she’s keeping secrets. She doesn’t belong here, much less with a street fighter like me.
But that doesn’t stop me from craving her. Her softness and sweetness. She’s a drug, and suddenly I’m addicted.
I know someone is going to try and hurt her and I can’t let that happen. But unless I push her away and get her out of my world, that someone could be me…
Thoughts on Bad Neighbor: So. Good girl in a tough spot finds a good guy who doesn't see his own worth. He's all fired up about her, but he thinks it's just physical (at first), while she's kinda got that repressed introvert thing going on. Which, yeah, makes for some fireworks. Because a guy who makes his way fighting dirty has to figure out a new approach for a girl who's first instinct is to run and hide.

Not that Charlotte gets far with the running. Mostly because Jesse pushes her out of her comfort zone in all the right ways and she realizes she likes things she'd never considered before. Sexy things. Like watching others. And having a bossy guy giving orders.

Enjoyable overall, but the relationship does move very quickly. Charlotte sees, Charlotte likes, Charlotte hides. Jesse sees, Jesse makes a move, Jesse makes some questionable decisions to keep Charlotte safe. It all works out in the end, though. Which is exactly why I read romance books.

Thursday, October 19, 2017

Escape Run by Carysa Locke [Review]

 Escape Run by Carysa Locke
Escape Run (Telepathic Space Pirates #1.5) by Carysa Locke
Format: ebook
Source: purchased as part of the Pets in Space anthology
Date read: February 16, 2017

Telepathic Space Pirates
0.5. Pirate Bound
0.75. Hunter Bond
1. Pirate Nemesis
1.5. Escape RunKindle
2. Pirate Consort

Carysa Locke
| WebsiteAmazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Teegan’s job as a hunter is to track down the Talented, those driven insane by their gifts. She and Ember, her psychically gifted fox, have tracked dozens of people for Cole, the man who works to rehabilitate and recover these troubled souls. When one of Cole’s most dangerous patients escapes, Teegan and Ember are on a hunt that could prove fatal if she doesn’t keep her focus on her mission. Unfortunately, Cole is proving one distraction that might make this her last hunt if she can’t do that.

Can Teegan keep her heart and mind in the game long enough to save an entire planet’s population, or will her distraction lead to heartache – and possibly death for everyone?
Thoughts on Escape Run: Maaaaan, I love those telepathic space pirates. This is a seriously good series and grab every chance I can get to dive back into their dangerous, crazy world.

This time around, we get to see a woman who's teetering on the edge of breaking after a terrible loss in her past and the man who wants nothing more than to help her recover. Except, Cole's presence stirs up all the memories of that loss and Teegan's...well, she's a mess. But she doesn't have the luxury of saying no to him because lives are on the line and she can't walk away when she can stop the death that's coming.

Plus, there's the little issue of the man she's hunting being the one who caused the damage that hurt her so deeply in the first place.

DANGEROUS AND COMPLICATED AND CRAZY. I'm so seriously in love with this series.

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Bayou Born by Hailey Edwards [Review]

 Bayou Born by Hailey Edwards
Bayou Born (The Foundling #1) by Hailey Edwards
Format: ebook
Source: provided through NetGalley
Date read: September 19, 2017

The Foundling
1. Bayou Born - Kindle

Hailey Edwards
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Her beginning may be our end...

Deep in the humid swamps of the Mississippi bayou, a mysterious, half-wild child is dragged just in time from the murky waters. She has no memories, no family and is covered in strange markings, the meaning of which no one is able to decipher. Adopted by the policeman who rescued her, Luce Boudrou follows him into the force, determined to prove herself in the eyes of those who are still suspicious.

However, there's more of a battle ahead than Luce could possibly imagine. She may be an orphan without a past, but no one - including Luce herself - could ever be prepared for the truth of her dark, powerful destiny...
Thoughts on Bayou Born: Holy wow, this was fun. Not only is the world-building top notch (just so you know, I say that often about HE's books because she's a FANTASTIC world-builder), but the revelations of who Luce is and how she ended up in the swamp as a child made me positively giddy. GIDDY. Like, I can't stop thinking about how things are going to play out because there's a whole lot of crazy going on here and Luce's life has taken a turn she couldn't have expected.

There's so much I want to discuss, but I feel like anything I mention will ruin the surprises. So I'm going to go with some intentionally vague things... I've always been a sucker for a big, growly guy who just can't keep his nose out of people's business. The mystery behind Cole's past and his dedication to the cause are things I'm looking forward to uncovering. The rest of the crew is equally intriguing. In a different way, of course, but I like the group dynamic. I like that there's still a lot we don't know about them.

As for Luce, sometimes the truth can be a good thing and sometimes it can completely turn your life upside down. I think knowledge is strength in this case because once she's aware, she can guard against those trying to come against her. Still, WOW. I can't imagine she saw this particular truth coming no matter how far she pushed her imagination.

Fantastic characters, fantastic world-building, and some truly terrible bad guys. I seriously can't wait to see where the next book will take us.

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Hold Tight by Alexa Riley [Review]

 Hold Tight by Alexa Riley
Hold Tight (For You #2) by Alexa Riley
Format: ebook
Source: provided through NetGalley
Date read: August 18, 2017

For You
1. Stay Close
2. Hold TightKindle
3. Don't Go

Alexa Riley
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
A hotshot consultant hired to streamline Osbourne Corp. meets his match in Pandora Justice—the more she plays hard to get, the more he wants her.

They say that like recognizes like, and the day I looked into her deep blues, I met my other half.

Pandora Justice took over as head of security at Osbourne Corp. after her father’s retirement. Eighty-hour workweeks are normal; being bossed around by handsome outsiders is not. And she doesn’t like it. Not even one bit.

It’s amazing how easily she can lie to herself.

I had to have her. Plain and simple.

The first time Pandora sees Royce in the ring—all tattoos and sinew, covered in sweat—he looks at her like he’s just won more than the fight. Like he won her.

I won’t play games with her. I’ll wait, and it will kill me, but I’ll do it for her.

Royce’s cocky grin with deep dimples makes Pandora melt. Once she wanted to smack that look off his face—now all she wants to do is kiss it. For the rest of her life.

The thought of spending the rest of my life with Pandora warms the place in my chest I didn’t think was alive. I’ve put my claim on her—she’s the one, and I’m done. It’s that simple.
Thoughts on Hold Tight: Pandora's turn! While her twin found her special someone back in high school (I kinda dig those two together. STILL!), Pandora has taken a decidedly different route from her homebody sister and poured everything she has into work. And she's happy. Mostly. Then she lays eyes on Royce and her life goes sideways.

In a good way.

He's HARDCORE smitten with her and she's equally as smitten with him, but VERY good at hiding it. Even from herself.

When they run into each other outside of work--BOOM--THINGS HAPPEN. In that glorious Alexa Riley way.

Fast-paced with enough spice to satisfy, I'm very curious to see how far and hard the hero of the next book falls.

Monday, October 16, 2017

Barbarian's Choice by Ruby Dixon [Review]

 Barbarian's Choice by Ruby Dixon
Barbarian's Choice (Ice Planet Barbarians #12) by Ruby Dixon
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: February 26, 2017

Ice Planet Barbarians
1. Ice Planet Barbarians
2. Barbarian Alien
3. Barbarian Lover
4. Barbarian Mine
5. Ice Planet Holiday
6. Barbarian's Prize
7. Barbarian's Mate
7.5. Having the Barbarian's Baby
7.6. Ice Ice Babies
8. Barbarian's Touch
8.5. Calm
9. Barbarian's Taming
9.5. Aftershocks
10. Barbarian's Heart
11. Barbarian's Hope
12. Barbarian's ChoiceKindle
13. Barbarian's Redemption
14. Barbarian's Lady

Ruby Dixon
Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
I might be the only unmated female in my tribe, but it doesn’t mean I’ve given my heart. I’m waiting. I want resonance, and I won’t settle for anything less.

But when an alien ship lands and a handsome stranger steps out, I know he’s the one. His name’s Mardok and he’s fascinatingly different – and distractingly appealing. But Mardok can’t stay on the ice planet, and he says he can take me with him.

Now, I must make a choice. Do I stay and lose my mate forever? Or do I follow him to the stars and leave behind everything I know?
Thoughts on Barbarian's Choice: Holy wow, I sincerely love these books. Each one gives a little more depth to the world the humans found themselves stranded on and where the tribe has made their home.

Farli's story has been a long time coming. She's grown from a sweet, gangly girl into a confident hunter. And she's held true to her desire to wait for a mate she resonated with, even if it was years in the making. I honestly enjoyed how she and Mardok came together so seamlessly. Well, mostly seamlessly. I liked their differences (hellllllo, piercings!) and how they managed to figure things out despite the initial language barrier.

Speaking of figuring things out, Mardok had some issues he needed to work through. Poor guy. Good thing he had Farli there to dull the pain of being unceremoniously stranded on a frozen planet. And, you know, to help keep him warm.

I'm excited for the possibilities opened up with this book and can't wait to see how the next couple overcome their own issues. Of which I'm sure there will be many, seeing how we're finally going to get Bek's story.